The trek up to Keraunja

Me, Anne (retired UK GP) and Rita and Namratha (two health supervisors) set off to Soti the jumping off point before our respective hikes to different villages. It was an overnight and 2 bus rides to Soti- the dust was phenomenal- a rusty brown coated all areas exposed to the air. Me and Ann cramped up on the hard seats- being prepared Ann had a cushion to gentle the pain. As I ponder about what I have done since comp

The first Dhal Bhat
The first Dhal Bhat

leting my GP training- a handful of locums, travel and now this I wondered how I can pass my appraisal. Luckily Ann is an appraiser and shared pearls of wisdom and comforting words that made me feel confident that with my experiences I could prove to the powers that I remain a competent GP. I hope!

It was impressive already Soti and we w

Very friendly and humble lady who helped carry our bags
Very friendly and humble lady who helped carry our bags

ere only just about to start our walk. Crossing of the first classic hanging bridge and oncoming weary mule train was within minutes of the start point. Milky blue glacial waters roared through the valley with long drop waterfalls already in sight. The health supervisors were amazing- they organised our every step from food and accommodation and hustling for us to pay non-tourist prices. They were great company and offered me an introduction to the Nepali culture of never ending hospitality.

The trip was the start of never ending combinations of rice, dhal, spinach and potato with the odd roti and egg treat provided. I managed well with the diet and to be honest my gastritis improved no end with the nourishing food.

Just over to Keranuja
The first hike was 5 hours across the valley- Rita tells me that they counted 108 waterfalls at one time. Mule trains, and people carrying incredible loads over strapped around their heads were a plenty. The backdrops of dusky to radiant green terraces contrasted out, and the intermittent brief smell of musty mule urine encroached on the fresh mountain air. I still feel very slightly embarrassed by my expensive walking boots while the locals manage in wrecked flip flops. But I definitely recognise my inferior walking skills as children hop and skip up and down rocky slopes and I watch every step.

The climb a thousand or so metres up on the second day was eased out as we had a local woman help carry our bags- she was incredible. We 3 ambled up the mountain via the dry muddy terraces, bullock carts, and hard working farmers of all ages scattered along the valley side. As we tipped over the brow lush green wheat terraces emerged and a sprawling village of Keraunja where I was due to be for the next week.

Leave a comment