Preparing for Ghorka

2 days after arriving in Kathmandu Dr Gerda (PHASE medical coordinator and one founder of PHASE), in her ever busy schedule, calmly arranges plans for me and Anne ( a retired GP) and my partner Maria (Development Intern with PHASE) over the coming few weeks. Dr Gerda herself is an inspiration- selflessly dedicating over a decade of her life to rural Nepal and its people and helping to create and develop PHASE. She does this all now while working a full time job in CIWEC clinic in Kathmandu- to me a person who seems to fit 36 hours of work into a 24 hour day. I look forward to the day I find these hiding hours.

A flurry of shopping ensued in the Thamel to haggle hard for the best and cheapest of the openly counterfeit North Face goods on offer. With images of a recent real life horror video of the stripping of goose feathers me and Maria proceeded to buy a few geese worth of jackets and sleeping bags to ensure our comfort from the could mountain air and the backpack straps. Now I just need to keep the bits of rogue down out of my beard.

Leave a comment